Ntnp header 2017
Ntnp avatar
North Texas Nurse Practitioners

SB 1193: Request for Action

Posted almost 5 years ago by Robert Metzger

REQUEST FOR ACTION

Your immediate action is needed.  Please call or email the senators on the Senate Committee on Jurisprudence and urge them to vote NO on SB 1193, which would require disclosure of the identity of persons reporting physicians to the Texas Medical Board (TMB).  Passage of this bill will discourage anyone from filing legitimate complaints against physicians for fear of retaliation and puts patient safety at risk.
 
BACKGROUND
The Senate Committee on Jurisprudence will take up consider SB 1193 tomorrow, April 9, 2013 at 1:30 pm.  This bill requires that the TMB notify by certified mail a physician who is the subject of a complaint filed with the TMB and requires that the TMB provide the physician with a full copy, without redaction, of the complaint, including the statement of the alleged violation and the name of the individual filing the complaint, and any physician who files an expert report.
 
To learn more about the bill, please go to the following link”
 
CONTACT INFORMATION
Please contact the members below with your VOTE NO message before 12:00 pm tomorrow, April 9, 2013.  
 
Senate Jurisprudence Members
Royce West: (512) 463-0123  royce.west@senate.state.tx.us
Jose Rodriguez: (512) 463-0129 jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us
John Carona: (512) 463-0116  john.carona@senate.state.tx.us
Sylvia Garcia: (512) 463-0106 sylvia.garcia@senate.state.tx.us
Kelly Hancock: (512) 463-0109 kelly.hancock@senate.state.tx.us
Ken Paxton: (512) 463-0108 ken.paxton@senate.state.tx.us
 
Sincerely,
Robert Metzger, Texas Nurse Practitioners Dallas/Denton Representative